An update

Sorry about the earlier rant about my depression, folks. Was having a particularly bad week, so if I offended anyone I apologize.  Just to update the situation, I’ve had my first two appointments with my psychologist and she has given me homework to kick off my cognitive behavior therapy, which will hopefully help my self-esteem issues and improve my negative self-talk, something which I’ve done for most of my life. Let me give you a little (very recent) example. I’ve just found out that I will have a short story published in my university’s journal. Called Verandah, it’s been around for roughly 31 issues and is edited by current and former writing students.  There is a print and e-book version.  Anyway, I got the email today congratulating me on my inclusion. The story chosen is available on this blog but most likely won’t be in exactly the same form once published. It’s called Behind Closed Doors and its theme is domestic violence. The first thing I thought? Besides, ‘yay’ and all the associated internal woo-hoos, do you know what I thought?  Can you guess? Well, it was something along the lines of “well, they must not have had too many better offerings”.  Why do I do that? Only give myself a couple of seconds of praise and then turn it around on myself?!  I guess that is something I will have to work on in therapy.

 

Leave a Reply

